Skip navigation

I’ve seen a bit of talk lately about the proliferation of Micro-blogging and how it will fit into the emerging media landscape. It’s the same sort of breathless speculation that I used to read about what we must now reffer to as traditional long-form ‘blogging’. I think its fair to say that there is something of a consensus that blogging has peaked, and microblogging is the heir apparent. Why is this?

I think the answer is simple. Blogging, at least blogging well, is hard. It’s a lot of work to produce the volume of original content required to sustain a successful blog. Micro-blogging, on the other hand, is easy. Much less thought and planning is required to spit out 140 character pearls of wisdom then craft even a short blog entry. As important, micro-blogging satisfies the same innate desire to be heard and feel influential that I believe drives bloggers. 

If this is the case, what is the fate of long form blogging? Will it wither at the feet of its more spontaneous offspring? Will the army of amateur loud mouths be replaced entirely by a small core of professional loud mouths now that they’ve lost their newspaper gigs? No. I suspect that the sheer number of bloggers will retreat to some smaller, but more stable level as many of the amateurs tire of toiling away in obscurity and flee to Twitter (as podcasters are also doing). I suspect that blogging and micro-blogging settle into a symbiotic realtionship where the two organisms support each other. Blogging will feed micro interesting content to link to, and micro will drive traffic to blogs. 

Most interestingly, however, I think that micro might help create a new class of blogger. These loud mouths will have been seduced into the ego-stroking attention market by the ease of micro-blogging, but will find themselves periodically unable to express themselves in that short format. They will be driven to give the long-form a try. 

This post is a demonstration of this principle in action. I’ve been enamored by Twitter for some months now, and as versed as I have become at parsing out my memes into 140 character bites, there are a few that I just can’t convey properly in that format. I’m going to try to repurpose this blog as the release valve for those ideas. Until now, ThotBlog was largely a discussion area for the production of Thotmarket, my own personal take on the idea of democratized content forums (like Digg). Until traffic and activity on that site pick up and warrant continued production, I will continue to post here on a wide range of subjects that interest me.

Leave a Reply

