Skip navigation

Thanks to everyone who has sent supportive feedback in response to the announcement that ThotMarket will be making a return to the public in February. It’s really gratifying to see that there is still interest in this thing and that we won’t have to start from scratch (trying to build up a user base). That last point is especially important, given the new market mechanism (more on that later). Suffice it to say, I believe that the new system has eliminated all the major sources of inflation that kept causing the economy to go nuts in the first public beta. The only way to know for sure is to release it into the wild and see what a large group can make of it. 

So, some things have changed, some things are gone, and there’s some new stuff as well. The story behind what has transpired since the site went away is one that will be told as the year progresses. If thotmarket takes off again, there is some extremely cool stuff on the horizon.When I pulled the site down, I stated that I believed there was no point in having the site at all, if it didn’t work. ThotMarket was down much longer than I anticipated because it took that long to build something I that think will work. But, things are looking good, and we are probably days away from the launch of Public Beta 2.  The site will turn on and shortly afterward a blast email will go out notifying everyone who opted in. If you had a user account in Beta 1, you can still use it to log in. There is a mechanism to reset a forgotten password if you entered an email into the system originally. Otherwise you are welcome to create a new account. 

 

Beta 2 is a clean start. That means none of the thots and none of the thollars from beta 1 will be carried over. I think you will find that it is a lot harder to make money this time. Of course, if I learned one thing from the first round, it was to never underestimate the general public when they are motivated.  The fundamental change is that the site no longer uses a market simulation to set stock prices. Those prices are now determined directly by the shareholders. It’s actually a real market now, although with fake money. What this looks like and how it works will be the topic of much discussion in upcoming posts. 

 See you soon!

12 Comments

  1. “A real market” … hmmm. Gotta see what that means. Certainly people aren’t going to be forced to wait for a stock sale before they can buy? Without massive numbers of users, that wouldn’t play out too well, I’d imagine. Not enough liquidity.

  2. YAY! Nice one, and new accounts (in effect) HOORAY!

  3. Yay! Finally it is time for Beat 2.0, I’m extremely excited and ready for Thot to once again open her doors.

  4. I was Master3 in the beta1, I was the richest man at the end of the game. I surely hope I can reach the same amount of money again.

  5. YAY, sweet, cant wait till its up again, i can play it in school to and claim its some business studies project or something 😀

  6. Awesome. I’m really excited! I spent so much time on thotmarket with my friends. I haven’t had that much fun in a while. Can’t wait for it’s return! I wish you massive amounts of luck. ❤

  7. Yes! I’ve been waiting forever for this. I will probably clue my financial planning teacher into this site once it reopens.

    Im confused about how a “Real Market” strategy will work. I always thought the point of the first thotmarket was to increase website traffic using the links. That is why i’d place the links in other websites to increase the traffic and get more dividends. WIll that no longer matter?

    I am eagerly waiting this reopening. Oh, and if you have another closed beta, please let me participate. It killed me to wait this long.

  8. wow thats awesome ever since the closed beta ive been going to site allmost every day waiting for an update and finaly it came :D!
    im going to have to see to get that new market thing…
    also can you make like a wap version for the site i allways used to check my thot on my cellphone but it was kinda hard…

  9. Spend less time making those logo’s and more time giving us back AMAZINGNESS

  10. will it make it before the end of feb? 😦

  11. Well it is a leap year right?

  12. Yay!


Leave a Reply

