Skip navigation

I’ve decided to move ThotMarket beck into a period of closed beta testing. This was not an easy decision to make, since it will no doubt put the skids on much of the momentum the site has experienced since the (original) public beta launch in August. The reason this is being done is so the market can be given a thorough rework in a more controlled environment than is provided by the public beta. It is clear that the site doesn’t work properly at the moment. The tweaking and testing that has been going on so far isn’t producing many results other than frustrating older users and confusing newer ones.

So, what does closed beta mean? Initially, only private users have access to the site while some changes and testing occurs. Within the next week, we will begin to invite public users in to the site in some controlled fashion (you can apply for this access on the site now). Beta testers will find a new site meaning that there will not be carry over of thots from the previously public version. During this closed beta, test users will be permitted to browse and populate the site as usual. From time to time, test users may be asked to provide feedback about their experience via email. This will not be the same experience as the public beta, however, since there will be fewer users and the system may be completely reset during the process. The purpose is to test the system before re-launch. Only user who are motivated to contribute to the creation of the new ThotMarket should volunteer to participate.

Once we are confident that the new site is stable, we will re-launch the public site. The new site will have new features and should be more mature in several ways.

If you don’t want to participate in the closed beta, but want to try out ThotMarket when if re-launches, please sign up for an email notification.

How long will this all take? I don’t know. It will take a few weeks at a minimum. There really isn’t any point in re-launching the site until it works. We have learned that a virtual market like this is a tremendously complex organism and taming it is no small undertaking.

Will your previous user account still work after re-launch? Yes.

Will you’re existing thots and thollars still exist after re-launch? I don’t know (yet).

I want to thank everyone who has helped the site get to this point and beyond.

23 Comments

  1. Yeah, this will really help your site’s popularity.

  2. You’re probably going to get a lot of people complaining about this, but things had gotten too far out of whack. Looking forward to see if my billions await me when the site comes back up.

  3. Okay, thanks for this.

  4. Best of luck with this, i can’t wait till all the bugs are worked out and we can get back to having fun 🙂

  5. @rworkman – I still believe the overall concept is novel and interesting to explore, despite the hurdles to overcome, and willingly offer what assistance I can as I’d like to see you get things up and running. Just let me know if there’s anything I can do to help!

  6. I am hoping you will let us have our same websites as before. Mine is http://www.davidhewlett.com and I wouldn’t want anyone else to steal it away if you just erase everything! Please don’t do that! The money was cool…but I never understood how I earned over 100 million so quickly. It was exciting, even though it wasn’t real money! Lol I’m hoping I still have some of my millions left. I worked hard advertising it and getting people to buy the stock.

    It would be nice if you could explain how the money was earned so quickly and how you will be doing it differently now.

    Kimberly

  7. Well if it must be done, then do it… Ill miss this site though.

  8. Konrad, you’re still going to play when it goes public. =P

  9. Would I be able to get eight beta accounts to be used for my economcis class? In January we will be covering the stock market and I would like to try to use thot market for it. Thanks

  10. This is a scam. ‘Closed beta’ my ass. All theyrre doing is ripping you all off. They realized that there was too much money being made, so they closed the sight so people can’t transfer the money to their bank accounts. They just stole from all of you. Personally, I’m going to call a lawyer and sue them if they refuse to credit my $56,324.
    I suggest you all do the same.

  11. On this note, I would like to ask if you are going to make it harder for people to end up becoming a huge cancerous growth slowly overtaking the entire market?(coughmidnitenekocough)
    Before the beta was closed I was planning on making a few thots and seeing where it’d go.

  12. Jeez, I hope my monies are still there when I get back.

  13. @webbwbb

    It would probably be best if you contacted them through email for your request. I wish my economics class let me play Thotmarket :(. I’d get an A+.

  14. Are you planning to make it like in the public beta?

    cause i noticed that the money in the game was going up and up all the time.

    i mean, once i had cash of 124,000,000,000 or something like that, so i was worth of 124 million newcomers.

  15. I’m having troubles waiting to see this, I sure hope I can get in the beta.

  16. My class is studying the stock market and your site … used to be somthing i was on every 10 minutes, when will you be out of beta? I wish i had an account to show my instructor.

  17. when is the site coming back up as really missing it as it fills a gap in my day ?? can i have a beta account as requested one but havent received anything

  18. Hey got any news for us? I still want to “play” this so any news would be appreciated!

  19. so is the site officially dead yet?

  20. DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT DO WANT an account.

    Ps: Please

  21. How are the updates going?

  22. when is this coming back i havent heard anything about it for awhile.
    pls let me beta test.

  23. Hey its been quite a while you’ve been in this closed beta. I come back everyday to check when it will be back up, no updates or anything. I really enjoyed the market and am wondering when it will be back? And none of this, its “closed until further notice” stuff.


Leave a Reply

