Skip navigation

Well the changeover happened. There have been, of course, many bugs. But, things are slowly starting to get under control. If the bug reports continue to slow, we can proceed to add functionality and make the site easier and more interesting. Thank you for all those who have been reporting problems. It’s not possible for me to respond individually, simply because of volume, but I really appreciate it. If you continue to encounter issues, please, send in another report.

Also, thank you to those few of you who found problems and didn’t report them as well. I’m learning to never underestimate the ingenuity of motivated people.

All in all, I think that the changeover is having a positive effect on things. Hopefully we can soon lift some more restrictions like the fortune cap. At the moment I’ve removed the the 15 and 5 minute trade restrictions. We’ll see how that goes.

UPDATE: And just when I think I’ve got the door closed, they start crawling in the windows.

UPDATE 2: I’ve made quite a few tweaks tonight. I found some serious flaws in the logic that was causing miscalculations on all sorts of things like available share values. As traffic increases these things tend to cascade and spin out of control faster and faster. This is what led to some of the negative values that were reported today. I need to learn that coding at 3am is probably not conducive for reliable results. Hopefully things will start to stabilize now and the market will settle back into a good rhythm. Complicating all this, is of course the fact that there are residual effects of the bugs still in the system (in the form of large balances and number of shares). Let’s wait and see what happens.

Today was the busiest day yet on ThotMarket, btw.

23 Comments

  1. Windfall needs to hit at the end of the hour, not immediately after being paid dividends. At least give us some time to reinvest in the hour, then tax what’s left before more dividends.

  2. any specific nasty bugs you can report? just worried it must be pretty serious since trading was halted.. just after i added shares to a stock and went to go buy half so i could make sure to retain control.. ACK haltings been stoped :/

  3. Will the 1Billion+ windfall tax stay?
    Its harmful to long term trade.

  4. Also: this bug i’d like to get fixed someday.
    When stocks are 2147483647 (impossible to have more) they don’t gain more shares when anything happens
    split,shares added,buying them etc, is futile.
    Probably some value limit on
    Long Integer instead of double float.

  5. I’ll have to ask ,will there be profile pages for the users?
    with comments and stocks stats?

  6. I’d rather people weren’t able to see what stocks I held, to be quite honest. Though having said that I’m curious what MidniteNeko has, seeing as he’s taken over (or IPOed) quite a few.

  7. There is change in the system so that it now shows
    my private stocks.They have zero market cap.
    No one has shares in them(except me).
    >.< just lost 1200 trillions today.
    Bank Balance: $14,116,761
    Portfolio Value: $122,937,783,536,423
    Net Worth: $122,937,797,653,184

  8. There is change in the system so that its shows my private stocks now.They have zero market cap.
    Bank Balance: $14,116,761
    Portfolio Value: $122,937,783,536,423
    Net Worth: $122,937,797,653,184
    Lost today ~1200Trillions.

  9. dood neko chill out and use the contact page to send some feed back this is a bug post do you really need to post 2 or 3 different posts? and if you got a suggestion then do it with feedback not commenting on a bug issue jesus.

    what is the point of all that money? im happy for you but i mean why not promote some sites? or maybe even find someone willing to pay you for promoting their site.. the money is worthless without a purpose unless it’s all Epeen for ya.

  10. Accidently posted twice.Sorry.
    Promoting sites doesn’t work here.
    Duplicate stocks will get deleted and people don’t buy just stocks that promote something.
    They buy things they like.
    The point of all that $ is to have some control over the site economics.I try to have Controlled shareholders status in most stocks.

  11. Could there be a feature to sell/buy max(all available) stocks without entering a number,just typing MAX.
    This would simplify alot of things.

  12. Great. I IPO’d and controlled 51% of MAXIM last night, and I wake up to find it taken over. Nice. Seems like when you IPO something, the public shared are NOT available. I lost a great stock to that bug.

  13. Could you just buy it back or its frozen?

  14. One thing i still cannot understand:If this site is about social bookmarking,having Controllers/frozen stocks is counterproductive.
    On the other hand if its a game of link trading,
    why to keep all these taxes? Sooner or later gamers will reach that 1billion,and face the windfall taxes.
    I would mention selling stocks tax,which applied on every trade,except if you sell just 100$ worth of stock..

  15. Hardcode- me too- Chevron, had about 51-2% control on an IPO, woke up- I have 0 shares of Chevron- I lost well over a billion on that one.

  16. Dammit. I had control of Jimi Hendrix (JM) at 60% shares. Now I friggin’ lost control of that one, too. BUGZ!!!!!

  17. I wonder how US economy would perform if revenue was limited to 1billion.I think alot of corporations would split into tiny
    companies and billionaires would have thousands of bank accounts to thousands of identities.
    The trade at the higher levels would stop in favor of small deals.

  18. Although I’m as greedy as the next guy- I would imagine that the limitation of the 1 billion thollars is to keep growth at a reasonable level. I’m losing 4-5 billion every few hours, or so, but I still get a whole billion to do evil things with- that’s plenty, in my mind.
    I’m sure the man behind the curtain has many, many more things planned- it’s been, what? A month in operation?

    I think we’re probably making way too many thollars anyway-
    1. I know I’m not this smart
    2. economic growth is limited by the amount of currency in the system, and the velocity of said currency, whereas here, new currency is added with every new trader, and who knows how the stock rise and fall is calculated- it could be creating new currency itself.
    3. Massive limitations are put on US corporations- maybe they evade many taxes, but the shareholders pay capital gains, and the corporation also needs to provide competitive wages and benefits- all of which are taxed.

  19. Although I’m as greedy as the next guy- I would imagine that the limitation of the 1 billion thollars is to keep growth at a reasonable level. I’m losing 4-5 billion every few hours, or so, but I still get a whole billion to do evil things with- that’s plenty, in my mind.
    I’m sure the man behind the curtain has many, many more things planned- it’s been, what? A month in operation?

    I think we’re probably making way too many thollars anyway-
    1. I know I’m not this smart
    2. economic growth is limited by the amount of currency in the system, and the velocity of said currency, whereas here, new currency is added with every new trader, and who knows how the stock rise and fall is calculated- it could be creating new currency itself.
    3. Massive limitations are put on US corporations- maybe they evade many taxes, but the shareholders pay capital gains, and the corporation also needs to provide competitive wages and benefits- all of which are taxed.

  20. “limitation of the 1 billion thollars is to keep growth at a reasonable level” i would say it encourages people to keep stocks which are unpopular or just unprofitable just to have a safer value for they money.
    That what keeps most stocks on the front page for hours.

  21. I think the creator doesn’t feel how the game is flawed.
    Maybe something more practical would show it..

  22. well it’s not suppose to be a game if i understand the original intent was a website ranking using a stock market like system.

    i’ve tried to promote sites i like but right now the system is dominated by people pump/dump or otherwise manipulating stocks.. if your stock does get succesful it just becomes a ground for people to manipulate it.. most dont even care what the stock is about just it’s stats.

    I think to be honest the best route would be to change it’s direction, require more information on a stock and deempasize it’s link to somewhere on the web, and instead let people create fictional companies (which they already do) where you have to give great detail about what they do, make, and what materials they need to do it or other companies they are dependent on.

    then try to make it into the most realistic pretend stock market possible.. it’s not the original intent.. but to be honest im unsure the original system can work without playing bigbrother and watching the stock market like a hawk.

    im no where as rich as you midnight.. but i’ve made a fair deal of money in a few days i’ve been on the site, but i now find my self tired of playing the money game.. i know the site is new but as a stock market simulator it’s not very realistic.. and as a website ranking site it’s totally face down in the dirt.. it’s still beta though and they’ve done a good job getting this far.. but after you have a few 100 billion it gets boring when theres not much else to do but take over stocks or make more money :/

  23. Why do you base-64 encode the Thot ids? (Are those primary DB keys I see?) It’s not serving any useful purpose.

    What’s wrong with just using the ticker symbol as the key? (After all, aren’t stock *symbols* supposed to be meaningless in themselves?)

    If you don’t agree with the above interpretation, any chance you’ll let us rename symbols? (GECKO? I meant GEKKO. -_-;;)


Leave a Reply

